Technology Exploration

Standard

Looking through the sites listed on the slide, I would probably consider myself a visitor. I noticed that I only use about a quarter of the sites, and have only heard of about half of them. Most of the tech I use is texting, email, and some social media sites.

One of my favorite sites to enhance student learning was Slide Share. I think this site is a great idea because whether a student was absent or just wanted to study from a PowerPoint, they can find them right here on this site. Also, teachers can share slide shows with each other. This could be great for teachers in the same school or for teachers not even in the same state to find ideas for their peers. Scribd would be a great site not only for students to find books to read, but also to post writing which students have completed. This site would allow students to have a much larger audience than they are used to, which could motivate their writing. I also think Skype could be useful in holding conferences with parents and/or students. Although I would rather meet face to face, using Skype could definitely be useful in situations where the parent’s work schedule may not allow for them to come in for a conference during normal hours.

After teachers leave school, they keep learning mostly through professional development. This typically takes place face to face however I now know that professional development can take place virtually as well. Virtual professional development seems interesting because instead of just communicating with teachers in your school or district, you can communicate with and get ideas from teachers all over the country. I noticed that a lot of virtual professional development takes place through blogs and through sharing ideas. I think this is great because the more ideas we can acquire the better.

It’s important to get students to write virtually because this expands their audience. Usually, the only audience a student has for their writing is their teacher and maybe their peers. But if they know that they are publishing their writing for more people to see, students usually feel motivated to create better writing. I think that these sites are interesting because they provide so many creative ways students can complete assignments ranging from writing to creating graphics and videos. However, the risks of these sites is that the internet is available for everyone to see, so you have to make sure what your students are posting is okay to be on the internet, and not harmful for themselves or for anyone else. A couple of my favorite sites were Prezi and Picfont because I think these are different means of presentations which students would enjoy.

In Jane Hart’s slideshare, I noticed that most of the techs in the top ten are sites that most students probably use very often. I also noticed that most of these techs are used for collaboration between students and between the student and the teacher. I also noticed that some were techs that students could use to research, but not as many as you would expect.

When choosing to integrate technology, I need to consider the fact that technology needs to be scaffolded. I can’t just start my students off creating a presentation and sharing it without first being sure they understand and can apply, analyze, and evaluate the information which is going into the presentation. Each piece of technology can work together and build upon the last so that students create writing and presentation which shows their use and understanding of the technology and the information they are presenting.

Based on my tech exploration, I think I will definitely use some of these sites in my future classrooms. I definitely want my students to publish their work in online forums so that they can have a larger audience and therefore feel more pride in their work. I also plan on using some of the virtual professional websites I found in this tech exploration. I think that professional development is very important for teachers because education continuously advances and changes, especially with technology being such an important factor. So professional development is a great way for teachers to stay up to date on these changes.

5 responses »

  1. Coral- Just made a connection between your name and your love of the ocean. Is there any significance? Tech does need to be scaffolded, but the tech can’t become larger than the reading or writing purpose. I agree with you in that we do need to be careful about exposing the identify of our students and choose tech judiciously. Good work thinking about how tech impacts students.

    Like

  2. Coral, you brought up some great points. Your insight into students writing virtually is very true. I think when there is an audience people care. It is definitely a great way to bump up writing performances for students who are capable, but are not putting in the effort to try. On the other hand that made me think about students who struggle as writers. I wonder… would the looming pressure of a virtual audience hinder them?

    Like

  3. Coral,
    You have several good ideas that I really like. My favorite was the idea of using Skype for parent conferences. In my high school, we had a lot of international students who were living in the U.S. solely to attend a nearby tennis academy. Most of their parents were still overseas, but they still wanted to be involved in their child’s schooling. If they were able and willing to communicate via a Skype conference, I feel that this would have been very reassuring and a good connection for everyone involved.

    Like

  4. Coral,

    I agree and also put that I thought slideshare would be a great website for teachers to use to share their classroom presentations! Especially for absent students. I also thought about putting Skype as one of my sites because of its use for teacher conferences with students and parents, however, I was thinking about the privacy of it and wondered if for legal purposes we should have two teachers present during the Skype or find a way to record the Skype in case something happened? I hate that we have to think that way now-a-days but its better to be safe than sorry!

    – Sarah

    Like

  5. Coral,

    I think you make an excellent point on how ” technology needs to be scaffolded’. Even though most of our students use technology on a regular basis, this does not mean they will be completely familiar with these particular programs. It is our job as the teacher to present our students with new information. The technology that students are familiar with is not the same thing as the technology we use. It is important to get students involved in education anyway we can.

    Like

Leave a comment